Edmonds Beacon - Your Hometown News Source

Edmonds City Council: Where the races stand today


Last updated 3/7/2019 at Noon

Here’s the current status of each of the seven elected Edmonds City Council positions:

Position 1: Held by Kristiana Johnson, who defeated Josh Thompson in 2017 to win a four-year term through 2021. She was appointed to City Council in 2012 after the departure of Michael Plunkett. She won a four-year seat the following year, defeating Randy Hayden.

Position 2: Held by Mike Nelson, who ran unopposed in 2017 to win a four-year term through 2021. He was appointed in March 2015 after Strom Peterson won a seat in Olympia serving the 21st Legislative District. Nelson maintained his seat in November of that year, handily defeating perennial candidate Alvin Rutledge.

In January, Nelson announced that he will run for mayor. Current Mayor Dave Earling will not seek a third term. If Nelson wins, councilmembers will have to select a candidate for Nelson’s Position 2.

Position 3: Adrienne Fraley-Monillas defeated perennial candidate Al Rutledge in 2017, to win a third term, through 2021. She won her seat in 2009 when she defeated Lora Petso. Four years later, she retained her seat in a race against a challenge from Ron Wambolt.

Position 4: Current Councilmember Diane Buckshnis, whose term expires this year, has announced her intention to seek re-election. In 2015, she ran unopposed. As of this week, she faces no challengers. Buckshnis defeated Bob Wilcox and Tad Helke in 2011. She was first appointed in January 2010 after the death of Councilmember Peggy Pritchard Olson, after losing to Strom Peterson in 2009.

Position 5: Current Councilmember Dave Teitizel announced in January that he will not run for a second term. He won his Position 5 seat in 2015, defeating Alicia Crank. Crank, on Monday, said she will be challenging Vivian Olson, who last month said she would be campaigning for the Position 5 seat.

Position 6: Held by Mesaros through the end of the year. Diana White has filed for the position. White, a founding member of the Edmonds Diversity Commission in 2015, announced in November that she would not be seeking reappointment when her three-year term expires at the end of the year. And she announced she does not intend to seek re-election to her seat on the Edmonds School District Board of Directors when her current term expires in November.

Position 7: Held by Neil Tibbott through the end of the year. Tibbott will seek re-election, having won his seat in 2015 by defeating incumbent Lora Petso. He will be challenged by Laura Johnson.

There could be more challengers.

The official filing period for the August primary is May 13-17, with the general election Nov. 6.


Reader Comments(0)

earth day savings smart thermostat

Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020