Edmonds Beacon - Your Hometown News Source

Cascade Symphony to perform ‘Petrushka’ concert March 11


February 27, 2019

Cellist Nathan Chan

Cellist Nathan Chan will be the featured soloist when the Cascade Symphony Orchestra – under the direction of maestro Michael Miropolsky – performs “Petrushka, a Puppet’s Life,” featuring the musical works of Russian composers Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky and Igor Stravinsky, as well as that of German composer Robert Schumann on Monday, March 11.

The concert will start at 7:30 p.m. at the Edmonds Center for the Arts (ECA), 410 4th Ave. North. A pre-concert lecture at 6:30 p.m. by KING-FM radio personality Dave Beck will preview the musical highlights for the evening.

Chan will perform Schumann’s “Cello Concerto in A minor” with the Cascade Symphony. The orchestra also will play Tchaikovsky’s “Dances from Oprichnik” and Stravinsky’s “Petrushka.”

A member of the Seattle Symphony, Chan has previously been a soloist with the San Francisco Symphony, the Royal Philharmonic, Albany Symphony, Reno Philharmonic, and Hong Kong Chamber Orchestra.

Chan made his musical debut at the age of 3 by conducting the San Jose Chamber Orchestra, having discovered his musical interests by emulating the styles of conductors he saw on videos.

Ticket prices for Cascade Symphony concerts at the ECA are $27 for adults, $22 for seniors, $15 for students with an ID, and $10 for youngsters 12 and younger. This is the first season that all tickets are for assigned reserved seats.

Additional information about the Cascade Symphony Orchestra and the “Petrushka, a Puppet’s Life” concert is available at http://www.cascadesymphony.org.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 10/11/2019 06:01