Edmonds Beacon - Your Hometown News Source

Fraley-Monillas elected council president; Paine is pro-tem

Mayor, new councilmembers sworn in


Last updated 1/9/2020 at 8:53am

Brian Soergel

New Mayor Mike Nelson with, from left, reelected Councilmember Diane Buckshnis and new Councilmembers Vivian Olson, Laura Johnson, and Susan Paine.

Breaking with the practice of one-year terms for council presidents, councilmembers on Tuesday reelected Adrienne Fraley-Monillas for a second-straight year during its first meeting of the year.

Although the one-year term has been used for some time, there is nothing in Edmonds City Code requiring new presidents to be selected every year. In past years, 2019 Council President Pro Tem Diane Buckshnis would have been named president, a position that pays $300 more a month than regular councilmembers.

Buckshnis, however, declined to take on the role after Councilmember Kristiana Johnson nomina...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021